Kick the Habit

Summer in New York City is not always a walk in Central Park. Especially when the temperatures hover in the 90s or higher. My sugar addiction kicks in violently on days when I walk outside and have to fight to breathe in the humid air. I crave pints of ice cream, dozens of soft serve cones, a few fruit popsicles, and cups upon cups of Pinkberry.

My ice cream fix has become a daily habit. The American Heart Association recommends women have no more than six tablespoons of sugar per day. I easily surpass that amount. This is my wakeup call.

Freedom organization Freely Be launched the Kick the Habit rally this week. From August 1-31 everyone should toss their bad habits to the wind, all in the name of self-improvement. Check out their challenge and join!

For the month of August (yes, the hottest month in NYC), I pledge to eat ice cream of all kinds only once a week.

I’m still quaking in my TOMS. This challenge will be an uphill battle, but since I just announced my plan to the blogosphere, I better stick to my guns on this one. Wish me luck!

4 responses to “Kick the Habit

  1. I love your blog! I will join you in the fight against excess ice cream! XO Mom

    • Colleen Kraskiewicz

      I agree with your mom, I love reading your blog too!! I have always wanted to be a single girl living in NYC, we all know that didn’t work out 🙂 It is a fun read! Stay cool out there!

      Your 2nd cousin – Colleen

  2. Pingback: bloggers who are kickin’ it. « FreelyBe | FreelyBlog.org

  3. Pingback: Kick the Habit, Week One | Lou in New York

Leave a Reply

